Janet’s Yellow Butterflies

A mysterious escape
in the midst of
Scotland’s great witch hunt

True story: Scotland, 1727
Janet and her daughter (we’ll call her Mairi) are about to become the last people legally executed for witchcraft in Britain. Shortly before the execution, Mairi mysteriously disappears, leaving her mother behind…

Their story, reimagined
Experience this reimagining of what might have unfolded in the days leading up to the execution, and after Mairi’s miraculous escape. How did she survive? What did her future hold? Who did she leave behind?

Digging up the past
Where there’s mystery, there’s intrigue. Modern day Australian Tahlia, and her grandmother Annie, are determined to uncover the secrets of the events that transpired almost 300 years before. Their quest will change their lives forever!

Get ready for goosebumps!
As you navigate the twists and turns of Janet’s Yellow Butterflies, you’ll be surprised how many connections you’ll discover between two worlds, 300 years apart.

Janet’s Yellow Butterflies will be released in 2024 as an ebook, audiobook and paperback.
Sign up for pre-order announcements, and listen to the audio book samples below or on Soundcloud.

Emma Elizabeth

Emma ELizabeth profile pic

I am an emerging historical fiction author with a long-held fascination for family history secrets, both real and fictional. I have a passion for weaving intriguing stories, intertwining modern day lives with the lives of yesteryear through place, artefacts, culture and family.

I have lived in an historic goldfields region of Australia for most of my life, on the lands of the Dja Dja Warrung and the Wadawurrung people. I have a deep appreciation for the traditional custodians of this land, and for those who have arrived from all corners of the globe.

I have been writing professionally for almost 30 years. Janet’s Yellow Butterflies is my first novel, and its completion fulfills a life-long dream.

Sign up for updates, and follow me on Facebook and Instagram. You can also email me at emma@emmaelizabethauthor.com.

My Secret Past

My Secret Past is a collection of fiction books with the common theme of delving into the past and untangling its secrets, through a modern day lens. You’ll always find the phrase ‘my secret past’ buried somewhere in each book’s pages, take special note!

Janet’s Yellow Butterflies is the first book in the collection, and book #2 is currently in the writing stages. Like a good wine, it will take time to mature, so follow me on social media and sign up to my mailing list to be the first to know when it’s ready to enjoy.